Call Committee Update

Your Call Committee met and finalized our Ministry Site Profile (MSP), which was submitted April 28 to the Bishop's office to begin the search for an Associate Pastor. The MSP provides interested candidates with an overview of the Associate Pastor position, our congregation, and our community. It is crafted to support a nationwide search of pastors throughout the ELCA. We thank President Christina Richmond and Pastor Deb for the Council's and the Finance Committee's work on budgetary guidance, and Rev. Rick Rouse, Dan Clements and the transition team for the nearly 1-year effort to get to this point.

Rev. Andy Yee, Assistant to the Bishop has provided us with an orientation on the entire process of calling a pastor. While the Call Committee will conduct the interviews and recommend a candidate for a vote of the congregation, the screening and candidate identification is the responsibility of the office of the Bishop. We have requested 5 candidates, the most allowable at one time, from Rev. Andy.

You may ask, "How can I help?" Members of our congregation may nominate a candidate for Rev. Andy to consider as one of the 5. If you would like to nominate a rostered minister who has completed their mobility papers (the process for seeking a new call in the ELCA), please reach out to me: Jeff Hanson, 425-760-4343 or jeffreyah@live.com. I will be happy to provide you with the nomination form. You can also help by sharing your thoughts with me or any of the Call Committee members listed below. We expect to receive a list of candidates in the next 30 days or so, and in the meantime are hard at work preparing to conduct interviews.

We commit to sharing as much information as possible through this process and remain open to any questions you have. However, once we receive names of candidates, the Bishop's office has asked us to maintain confidentiality so as not to compromise the work in their current ministry. We ask for your prayers seeking the guidance of the Holy Spirit throughout this important time.

Blessings, Jeff Hanson, Chair, OSLC Call Committee

Call Committee Members: Kathy Brodniak, Bob Dobler, Marko Jokinen, Chris Marl, Erin Newsome, Suzy Oversvee, Alex Yonke.