## GOLDEN STETHOSCOPE AWARD SIERRA SACRAMENTO VALLEY MEDICAL SOCIETY

**Criteria:** Candidates for the Golden Stethoscope Award shall be judged primarily for their devotion to patient care, and the medical needs of their community. Recipients of the Golden Stethoscope Award typically have demonstrated a career that is clearly oriented to their practice and the care of their individual patients in an environment of unselfishness, compassion and empathy. The candidates shall have been members of the Medical Society for at least 15 continuous years and may be in active practice, retired or hold an administrative position. Anyone can nominate a physician for consideration to the Scholarship & Awards Committee. Nominations are usually considered in November for presentation the following year.

## **RECIPIENTS OF THE GOLDEN STETHOSCOPE**

\*Year represents when award was approved. Award presented at the following year annual meeting.

- 1961 Ralph Teall, MD\*
- 1962 Ray M. Wallerius, MD\*
- 1963 James W. Elliott, MD\*
- 1964 Andrew M. Henderson, MD\*
- 1966 Frank B. Reardan, MD\*
- 1967 Oscar F. Johnson, MD\*
- 1968 Edmund E. Simpson, MD\*
- 1970 Dave F. Dozier, Sr., MD\*
- 1971 James W. Martin, MD\*
- 1972 Charles Blumenfeld, MD\* James Yant, MD\*
- 1974 Raymond J. Primasing, MD\* Carl E. Horn, MD\*
- 1975 Abe E. Berman, MD\*
- 1976 William F.B. Harding, MD\*
- 1977 Dan O. Kilroy, MD\*
- 1978 Howard Bliss, MD\*
- 1979 L. Morgan Boyers, MD\*
- 1980 James Paul Barnes, MD\*
- 1981 Stanley Smiley, MD\*
- 1982 Henry Go, MD Max Shaffrath, MD\*
- 1983 Dennis Marks, MD\*
- 1984 Robert H. Quillinan, MD\*
- 1985 Richard L. Johnson, MD\*
- 1986 Byron H. Demorest, MD\*
- 1987 William Y. Fong, MD\*
- 1988 Robert J. LaPerriere, MD
- 1989 James Arliss Pollock, MD\*

- 1990 Kenneth Ozawa, MD\*
- 1991 Otto Neubuerger, MD\*
- 1992 Willis Pickel, MD\*
- 1993 Frank Schiro, MD\*
- 1994 Leon Burke, MD\* Lyman Maass, MD\*
- 1995 Edward Smeloff, MD
- 1996 Bernard Lewis, MD\*
- 1997 John Baker, MD\*
- 1998 John B. Reardan, MD\*
- 1999 Donald Hopkins, MD
- 2000 Herbert Bauer, MD\* Eleanor Rodgerson, MD\* Hiroshi Yamauchi, MD
- 2001 Kenneth B. Wiesner, MD
- 2002 Roger A. Lieberman, MD
- 2003 Barbara J. Arnold, MD
- 2004 Erwin A. Eichhorn, MD
- 2005 Paul B. Kelly, MD
- 2006 William G. Bush, MD\*
- 2007 David F. Dozier, Jr., MD
- 2008 James A. Margolis, MD
- 2009 Jane O'Green Koenig, MD
- 2010 William J. W. Au, MD
- 2011 Ernest E. Johnson, MD
- 2012 Marion Leff, MD
- 2013 Bradley E. Chipps, MD
- 2014 Delphine W. Ong, MD
- 2015 Robert A. Kahle, MD
- 2016 Gordon A. Wong, MD
- 2017 Mary Pat Pauly, MD
- 2018 Denise Satterfield, MD
- 2019 David Kissinger, MD
- 2020 Award Not Presented During Pandemic
- 2021 JaNanh Scalapino, MD