Sierra Sacramento Valley Medical Society MEDICAL HONOR AWARD RECIPIENTS

*Deceased

- 1986 Harvey Thompson, MD* (posthumously) and Sandy Pomerantz, MD* Presented for their work establishing the AIDS Foundation.
- 1987 Suzanne Snively, MD* Presented for her contributions to student health on the CSUS campus.
- 1988 Robert LaPerriere, MD Presented for his work with the City Cemetery and the preservation of pioneer physician gravesites.
- **1989-1992** The award was not presented in this category during these years.
- 1993 Jerome Lackner, MD* Presented for his devotion to the treatment of individuals with drug dependencies and for his deep compassion and medical care of this underserved population.
- 1994 Harvey Rose, MD* Presented for his major contributions on behalf of medicine & patients in the understanding of the treatment of chronic pain.
- 1995 Quentin Bonser, MD* Presented for his significant contributions to medicine and community health in Sacramento and El Dorado counties.
- 1996 Larry Otterness, MD* -Presented for his devotion to the well-being of physicians in Sacramento and El Dorado medical communities.
- 1997 Ernie Bodai, MD Presented for his achievement in obtaining the passage of legislation that authorized the sale of a breast cancer postage stamp with some of the proceeds going research.
- 1997 Glennah Trochet, MD Presented for her devotion to the treatment of the medically indigent in Sacramento and her diligent work with the Society's SPIRIT Project since its inception.
- 1998 Gerald Swafford, MD Presented for exemplifying the efforts of the many physicians who volunteer their time to the Society's SPIRIT Project. Dr. Swafford was the first volunteer for the SPIRIT Project to perform hernia repairs for individuals who otherwise would not be able to receive this care.
- 1999 Frederick E. Pratt, MD* Presented for his outstanding volunteer contributions to the health of the people in our community and throughout the world.
- **2000** Edward Rudin, MD* Presented in recognition of his outstanding contributions to community mental health.
- **2001** Patricia L. Samuelson, MD Presented in recognition of her outstanding contributions to Shots for Tots and patient advocacy.
- 2002 Ann Haas, MD Presented in recognition of her outstanding leadership as President of the Sun Safe City Program.
- 2003 Joseph Silva, Jr., MD Presented in recognition of achieving 100% membership of all four years of medical students in SSVMS, CMA and the AMA and his support and leadership in organized medicine.

Page Two - Medical Honor Award Recipients

- **2004** Lawrence Bass, MD In recognition of his dedication to providing care to the medically underserved.
- Ann Gerhardt, MD -In recognition as founder of the organization WINS --- We Insist on Natural Shapes. A non-profit organization devoted to educating the public about body-image issues.
- 2006 John Chuck, MD In recognition as founder and CEO of the Serotonin Surge Charities.
- 2007 Richard J.D. Pan, MD In recognition as a leading advocate for insuring all children.
- **2008** Ruth Haskins, MD In recognition as a leading advocate for patients and physicians on healthcare issues.
- **2009** Joanne Berkowitz, MD In recognition as an outstanding advocate for patients and physicians on healthcare issues.
- **2010** Faith Fitzgerald, MD For Inspiring Leadership in Educating Medical Students and the Community About the Art and Science of Medicine.
- **2011** John C. Loofbourow, MD In recognition of his advocacy for the underserved and a voice of the Medical Community as Editor, *Sierra Sacramento Valley Medicine*.
- 2012 Christopher Gresens, MD In recognition of his passionate efforts to maintain a safe blood supply.
- **2013** John W. Young, MD In recognition of his dedication to the uninsured, and exemplary service to the SPIRIT Program.
- **2014** Paul R. Phinney, MD In recognition as a leading advocate for patients and physicians on healthcare issues.
- 2015 George W. Meyer, MD In recognition of his outstanding volunteer contributions to the health of the people in our community and throughout the world.
- **2016** Tim W. Grennan, MD In recognition of his outstanding achievements as a physician, medical educator and researcher in the advancement of cancer treatment.
- **2017** Gordon S. Garcia, MD In recognition of his spirit of community service and volunteerism as a child advocate, community educator and instructor to three local medical school universities.
- 2018 David Herbert, MD In recognition of his efforts working with the SPIRIT Program to increase access to care for the medically underserved in our community.
- **2019** Andrew Hudnut, MD In recognition of 20 years as a SPIRIT Adopt-A-School volunteer and a volunteer at the Interim Care Program (ICP) for homeless patients.

2020 No Award Given

2021 Gary Chu, MD – In recognition of his contribution to community health.