FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 16, 2019 CONTACT: Gina Lehe, 469-262-5200

MOHAJIR, ODIERNO AND SLOCUM NAMED TO COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF SELECTION COMMITTEE

Term for selection committee chair Rob Mullens extended

IRVING, Texas – Bill Hancock, Executive Director of the College Football Playoff (CFP), today announced that **Terry Mohajir**, **Ray Odierno** and **R.C. Slocum** have been appointed to the selection committee by the CFP Management Committee. The new members will each begin a three-year term starting this spring.

Hancock also announced that University of Oregon Athletics Director **Rob Mullens** will continue for a second year as selection committee chair. Mullens' term on the committee, which was originally set to expire in February 2019, will now extend until February 2020.

"Terry, Ray and R.C. each bring a wealth of experience and expertise to the committee," Hancock said. "All three have built esteemed careers based on character and diligence, which will continue the CFP tradition of committee members who are football experts and also people of high integrity.

"We are also delighted that Rob will return as chair of the selection committee," Hancock added. "He is thoughtful, considerate and detailed in leading the committee's discussions each week during the season, and he is a tremendous representative of the CFP with the media and public."

The new members will replace Jeff Bower, Herb Deromedi and Bobby Johnson, whose terms expired.

Terry Mohajir was named director of athletics at Arkansas State University in September 2012. A football student-athlete at Arkansas State from 1988-91, Mohajir went on to the University of Kansas where he served as a graduate assistant coach and assistant offensive line/game-day special teams coach for the Jayhawks from 1993-96. He shifted his career toward administration prior to leaving KU in 1997 to become assistant athletics director at the University of Missouri, Kansas City (1997-2004) and then senior associate athletics director at Florida Atlantic University (2004-11). Mohajir returned to the University of Kansas as its senior associate athletics director in 2011, before accepting his current role with his alma mater.

Mohajir, the current Chairman of the Sun Belt Conference Athletic Director's Committee, was appointed as the Sun Belt's representative on the inaugural CFP Athletics Directors Advisory Group and has also held positions on the NCAA Division I Championships Cabinet, the NCAA Division I Football Issues Committee, and the NCAA Division I Football Ad Hoc Recruiting Working Group.

General Ray Odierno culminated his nearly 40-year military career as the 38th Chief of Staff of the United States Army from 2011-15. He earned a bachelor's degree from the United States Military Academy at West Point in 1976 where he played football in 1972-73. He later received a master's degree from North Carolina State University. He is also a graduate of the Army and Navy War Colleges and holds a master's degree from the Naval War College. General Odierno served in Europe as a battalion executive officer and division artillery executive office, including deployment for Operations DESERT SHIELD and DESERT STORM. He later commanded 2nd Battalion, 8th Field Artillery, 7th Infantry Division and the Division Artillery, 1st Cavalry Division.

During the War in Kosovo in 1998, Odierno was the Deputy Commanding General for Task Force Hawk in Albania. He went from there in 2003-04 to command the 4th Infantry Division, which was responsible for the capture of Iraq's deposed dictator, Saddam Hussein, during Operation IRAQI FREEDOM. From 2006-08, he served as the Commanding General, Multi-National Corps – Iraq (III Corps), the

operational commander of the surge forces, before his time as the Commanding General, Multi-National Force – Iraq, and, subsequently, United States Forces – Iraq, from 2008-10.

Following the successful transiton of command in Iraq from 2010-11, General Odierno was the Commander of the United States Joint Forces Command. Other significant assignments include Arms Control Officer, Office of the Secretary of Defense, and Assistant to the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, where he was the primary military advisories to former U.S. Secretaries of State Colin Powell and Condoleeza Rice (a former CFP selection committee member).

Gen. Odierno is chairman of USA Football and was named the National Football Foundation's "Distinguished American" award recipient in 2013, joining the likes of past winners such as Vince Lombardi, Bob Hope, and Alan Page.

R.C. Slocum was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2012. The winningest head coach in Texas A&M history, he led the Aggies to a record of 123-47-2 from 1989-2002. Slocum earned both bachelor's and master's degrees from McNeese State, where he played football from 1963-67. Upon graduation, he began his career as a football coach at Lake Charles High School in Louisiana, before transitioning to the college ranks at Kansas State from 1970-71. Slocum then was hired by Texas A&M as an assistant coach, where he spent the 1972-80 seasons prior to becoming the defensive coordinator at the University of Southern California in 1981.

He returned to College Station in 1982 as the defensive coordinator, until assuming the head coaching position in December 1988. In his 14-year head coaching career, Slocum never had a losing season and won four conference championships, including the Big 12 title in 1998. Under Slocum, the Aggies became the first program in Southwest Conference (SWC) history to post three consecutive perfect conference seasons, including four years without losing a SWC game and the highest winning percentage in SWC history (.865).

Slocum is a member of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans and served on the board of the American Football Coaches Association.

Rob Mullens became athletic director at Oregon in 2010. After earning undergraduate (1991) and graduate (1993) degrees at West Virginia University, Mullens served briefly as an accountant with Ernst & Young, before moving up through the ranks in athletic administration with stops as senior athletics business manager at the University of Miami, Fla. (1994-96), assistant director of athletics for business and ultimately executive senior associate director of athletics and chief of staff at the University of Maryland (1996-2002), and deputy director of athletics at the University of Kentucky (2002-10).

The CFP Selection Committee is responsible for selecting the top four teams and assigning them to semifinal games as well as ranking the remaining top 25 teams. The selection committee meets in-person beginning late in the football season and produces a ranking of the top 25 teams each week, leading up to its final selections. For more information on the selection committee, visit www.collegefootballplayoff.com.

-#CFBPlavoff-

About the College Football Playoff

The College Football Playoff matches the No. 1 seed vs. No. 4, and No. 2 vs. No. 3 in semifinal games that rotate annually among six bowl games – the Goodyear Cotton Bowl, PlayStation Fiesta Bowl, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, Capital One Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl and Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual. This season's Playoff Semifinals will take place Saturday, December 28, 2019, at the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. The College Football Playoff National Championship will be Monday, January 13, 2019, at Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana.