United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

November 23, 2021

The Honorable Ron Wyden Chairman Senate Committee on Finance 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mike Crapo Ranking Member Senate Committee on Finance 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Wyden and Ranking Member Crapo:

The motorcoach, school bus, and passenger vessel industries have been devastated by the COVID-19 pandemic. Many of these companies are still struggling to get back to business as normal as the coronavirus is still limiting travel and entertainment opportunities. The December 2020 COVID relief package through the Coronavirus Economic Relief for Transportation Services (CERTS) Act provided invaluable support to these industries and their workers. However, when this provision was enacted, it failed to afford grants under the CERTS program the same tax treatment as other pandemic business assistance programs.

The Paycheck Protection Program (PPP), Shuttered Venue Operators Grant (SVOG), and the Restaurant Revitalization Fund (RRF) grants were all made non-taxable while all related business expenses remain fully deductible. However, the CERTS Act grants are taxable. We know that the Senate Finance Committee would have worked to provide similar tax treatment for this program if the matter was brought to the Committee's attention at the time. These funds were intended to be emergency relief and should be treated the same as other coronavirus relief funds, which are exempt from tax while related business expenses remain deductible. This clarification would help simplify tax compliance for these industries, many of which are small and family businesses, as well as provide parity with other industries hard hit by the pandemic.

These industries provide essential transportation services to the public and need to remain in business. These businesses were some of the first to shut down in 2020 and will be among the last to fully recover. The CERTS Act grants, while extremely beneficial, only replaced about twenty percent of lost revenue from 2020. With the Delta variant leading many commuters and travelers to continue to stay at home, the economic impacts on these industries will be prolonged. Many operators do not expect to return to "normal" business until sometime in 2023. Requiring these struggling businesses to pay back a large portion of these emergency grants in taxes will further delay their recovery.

Thank you for your time and attention to helping these hard-hit industries recover from the pandemic by exempting CERTS grant funding from taxable income on the same terms as similar programs. We look forward to working with you to fix this inequity. Sincerely,

Churc

Charles E. Grassley United States Senator

Harsha Machburn

Marsha Blackburn United States Senator

Steve Daines United States Senator

Jusan M Collins

Susan M. Collins United States Senator

Mike Rounds United States Senator

- Cover

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Blamin

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

earne Shaheen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Jack Reed United States Senator

Cor Blim

Roy Blunt United States Senator

Ernst nited States Senator

Roger Wicker United States Senator

Tisder

Deb Fischer United States Senator

Bill Hagerty United States Senator

Alex Padilla

United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Maggie Hassan Margaret Wood Hassan

United States Senator

Clobchan

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

lo 10

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

Todd Y oung United States Senator

Di

Thom Tillis United States Senator

Cyuthia M. Lummis United States Senator

' VIA

Marco Rubio U.S. Senator

Richard Burr United States Senator

ligaluthe

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

inc

Tina Smith United States Senator

Gary C. Peters United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr.

Angus S. King, Jr. () United States Senator

Lindsey Graham United States Senator

ensu

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

R Warner

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Tim Kaine United States Senator

Robert Menendez United States Senator

Edward J. Markey

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

navo

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

Tammy Orchwath

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Mark Kelly United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merklev

United States Senator

Page 6

Chini Coom

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator