

The West Virginia State Bar Young Lawyer Section





Past Award Recipients

2020 Lary D. Garrett

2019 Richard Walker

2018

Teresa C. McCune 2017

Chanin Krivonyak 2016

Michael Chaney

2015 The Honorable David R. Janes

2014 Chip E. Williams

Inaugural Award, 2013 Wade H. "Jim" Ballard

Nomination Procedure

Who inspires you at work, making you want to do and be better? Who commits the time to help young lawyers transition into the practice of law? Who has passion for the law and wants you to have the same passion?

This award is meant to honor a seasoned lawyer who has provided mentorship and guidance to young lawyers. Nominations may be made by any young lawyer or by anyone who knows a lawyer who helps mentor young lawyers.

Nominations should include:

- 1. The name and address of the nominee.
- 2. A brief biographical account of the nominee's legal career.
- A brief statement including examples explaining why this person is a great mentor.
- 4. The identity of the person making the nomination.

Nominations may include any other relevant information.

Selection Process

The Mentor of the Year Committee will consider all outstanding qualities of each nominee in making its recommendation to the YLS Executive Committee. The Executive Committee of the Young Lawyers Section will select a recipient for the Mentor of the Year Award from qualified nominees submitted for consideration.

Nominations must be RECEIVED by noon on Monday, March 1, 2021.

Nominations should be sent by mail to: The West Virginia State Bar/ Mentor of the Year Award 2000 Deitrick Boulevard Charleston, WV 25311

Or by email to caseya@wvbar.org.

The Mentor of the Year Award will be presented at the 2021 Annual Meeting of The West Virginia State Bar held at The Greenbrier Resort on Sunday, April 11, 2021.