

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: 9 October 2023

For more information, contact: Melissa Golding, NABE Press Officer, 571-236-2820

LONDON BUSINESS SCHOOL PROFESSOR HELENE REY RECEIVES THE 2023 ADAM SMITH AWARD

DALLAS, TX—**Hélène Rey,** the Lord Bagri Professor of Economics at the London Business School, received the Adam Smith Award from the **National Association for Business Economics (NABE)** yesterday. The award was presented to Professor Rey during NABE's 65th Annual Meeting in Dallas, TX.

After receiving the award, Professor Rey delivered the 2023 Adam Smith Award Address, which will be published in a forthcoming edition of *Business Economics*, NABE's quarterly professional journal.

"Hélène Rey's career truly epitomizes the qualities that the Adam Smith Award is intended to spotlight," said **NABE President Julia Coronado,** founder and president, MacroPolicy Perspectives LLC. "Her research has changed the way major institutions conduct policy, and the way all of us understand international monetary linkages and spillovers. Despite how ubiquitous her framework has become in understanding the world, she is not always given the credit I believe she is due. Her distinguished career embodies the spirit of the Adam Smith Award in every way possible."

Professor Rey joined the London Business School faculty in 2007, and became the Lord Bagri Professor of Economics in 2016. Prior to 2007, she was at Princeton University, as professor of economics and international affairs in the Economics Department and the Woodrow Wilson School. Her research focuses on the determinants and consequences of external trade and financial imbalances, the theory and empirics of financial crises and the organization of the international monetary system.

She is an elected Fellow of the British Academy, of the Econometric Society, of the European Economic Association, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Professor Rey is a member of the Group of Thirty, of the Bellagio Group on the international economy, and a member of the external advisory group to the managing director of the International Monetary Fund. She writes a regular column for the French newspaper *Les Echos*, and is a member of the Haut Conseil de Stabilitié Financière (French Macro Prudential Authority).

Continued on next page

9 October 2023 Page 2 of 2

She received her undergraduate degree from ENSAE, a masters degree in Engineering Economic Systems from Stanford University, and PhDs from the London School of Economics and the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales.

The Adam Smith Award, named for the eighteenth-century Scottish philosopher and economist whose ideas about economics led to the growth of modern capitalism, has been awarded annually by NABE since 1982. Past recipients of the award include: Henry Kaufman, Henry Kaufman & Company (2001); Edward J. Kane, Boston College, George C. Kaufman, Loyola University of Chicago, and George J. Benston, Emory University, who shared the 2002 award; Allan Meltzer, Carnegie-Mellon University (2003); Nobel Laureate Lawrence Klein, University of Pennsylvania (2004); Dale Jorgenson, Harvard University (2005); William Poole, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (2006); John B. Taylor, Stanford University (2007); Michael Mussa, Peterson Institute for International Economics (2008); Lawrence Summers, Harvard University (2009); Janet Yellen, the Federal Reserve Board (2010); Kenneth Rogoff, Harvard University (2011); George Soros, The Institute for New Economic Thinking and Soros Fund Management LLC (2012); Roger Ferguson, TIAA-CREF (2013); Ben Bernanke, The Brookings Institution (2014); Edward Prescott, University of Arizona (2015); William R.White, Bank of International Settlements (2016); Raghuram Rajan, University of Chicago (2017); Carmen M. Reinhart, Harvard University (2018); Arthur B. Laffer, Laffer Associates (2019); Susan Athey, Stanford Graduate School of Business (2020); Hal Varian, Google (2021); and John List (University of Chicago, 2022).

ABOUT NABE: NABE is the global professional association for applied economists. Since 1959, NABE has attracted the most prominent figures in economics, business, and academia to its membership with highly-regarded conferences, educational and career development offerings, industry surveys, and its unrivaled networking opportunities. Past presidents of NABE include former Chairman of the Board of Governors for the Federal Reserve System, Alan Greenspan, several former Federal Reserve governors, and other senior business leaders. The **Certified Business Economist ® (CBE)** is the certification in business economics and data analytics developed by NABE. It documents a professional's accomplishments, experience, and abilities, and demonstrates mastery of the body of knowledge critical for a successful career in the field of economics and data analytics. For more information on the CBE, please visit: <u>www.NABE.com/CBE</u>. For more on NABE, please visit <u>www.NABE.com</u>.

###