

Congratulations to all the SLA Award Recipients

The Saskatchewan Library Association is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2017 Maureen Woods Education Bursary is **Elise Lehmann.**

Elise's strong roots to Saskatchewan were immediately apparent in her application, and her professional work. Calling Rosthern, SK home, she has made her desire to work and contribute the library community within Saskatchewan well known. From her letter of application, she states that she wants to make a difference to people in Saskatchewan communities by providing information and education opportunities through libraries, and help to better our province as a whole. She is also very interested in the role that libraries play in bringing the arts to small rural communities. One of her references used the following descriptors to describe her: fearless, knowledgeable and passionate. Her other reference described her as "consistent... she is the kind of leader that gets things done through quiet determination and self-confidence". She will graduate in April of 2018 from the University of Alberta's MLIS program where she received a well-rounded education covering all different aspects of library and information studies.

The Saskatchewan Library Association is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2018 Frances Morrison Award for outstanding service to libraries is **Colleen Murphy**. Colleen has had a distinguished association with libraries. She spent the first few years of her career in Montreal libraries before moving to Saskatchewan in the nineteen eighties. She made a home for herself in the province's academic library community over the span of 34 years. Her devotion and commitment to libraries crosses sectoral boundaries and has been instrumental in establishing a distinctive culture of service. To this day, Colleen continues to advocate for the values of public service and inclusivity, not only for those in our profession but, more broadly for the people of Saskatchewan. Having distinguished herself as a versatile academic librarian, Colleen accepted leadership positions in virtually every area of library practice - technical services, collections, cataloguing, reference and instruction, access and, most recently, as an Associate University Librarian in Regina. She has been a member, and often the leader, of countless library and university-wide committees, teams, working groups, and task forces. For most of her career, Colleen has been a member of the Saskatchewan Library Association (SLA) and regularly participated in several, if not all, of its Committees. She regularly served in leadership roles with SLA and, in 2006, she was elected as President.

Most recently, her interest in cross-sectoral work and passion for library service have led her to assume leadership roles with the Creative Collaborations Network and the One Book One Province Committee. She also served on the Multitype Library Board and the Multitype Database Licensing Program Review Committee, continuing her work in promoting excellence in library service for all Saskatchewan people. On the national stage, Colleen has been an outstanding ambassador for Saskatchewan and its libraries. She was the Education Institute Chair with The Partnership, and Councilor at Large with the last board of



SLA SASKATCHEWAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION





the Canadian Library Association (CLA). True to form, Colleen was instrumental in the smooth transition of the CLA to what we now know as the Canadian Federation of Library Associations (CFLA).

Honourary Life Membership

An Honourary Life Membership is conferred upon a current SLA member who has made a substantial and recognizable long-standing contribution to SLA and/or library service in Saskatchewan. As a member of SLA for life, the recipient has full voting privileges, does not pay annual dues, receives all Association publications, and may serve on committees. As well, this membership entitles the recipient to discounts at all SLA functions and workshops. Congratulations to **Colleen Murphy** as the recipient of both awards, and thank you for your service and dedication to Saskatchewan Libraries.

The Mary Donaldson Award of Merit was established in 1977 to recognize library support workers and the essential services that they perform in Saskatchewan libraries. The Mary Donaldson Award of Merit is an award given annually since 1977 to a graduating library technician student.

The Saskatchewan Library Association is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2018 Mary Donaldson Award of Merit is Brittany Schmidt. Brittany is attending the Schmidt Saskatchewan Polytechnic School of Information and Communications Technology, completing the Library and Information Technology program. She has been a student representative for Saskatchewan Association of Library Technicians since September 2016. She has contributed in a volunteer capacity to promote the Library and Information Technology program at the Saskatoon Comic Book Expo in October 2017 and the See Your Future Career Fair in Regina in November 2017.

She has thoroughly enjoyed her educational program and looks forward to her career ahead. Brittany writes, "Throughout my life I have felt a strong connection to the library and to literacy. I am very passionate about my future as a library professional. I hope to encourage a love of literacy within my community, as well as provide access to information and resources to those who need it."

Brittany's passion for library work began in elementary school where she was offered and was offered a position as a student volunteer over recess and lunch hour. This early experience working in a library helping her peers find books to enjoy and fro information purposes sparked her interest in the field.

The evolution and multiple roles of libraries is important to Britany as she states "The library is not only a haven for many, it is a place where knowledge lives and where communities can come together."

Congratulations Brittany and best wishes in your career!



ASKATCHEWAN LIBRARY













