

September 19, 2017

The Honorable Richard Slutzky Chairman, Harford County Council 212 South Bond Street 2nd Floor Bel Air, MD 21014

Re: SUPPORT FOR BILL 17-014 – Sediment Control – 20 Acre Grading Limit

Dear President Slutzky and Members of the Harford County Council:

The Upper Chesapeake Chapter of the Maryland Building Industry Association (MBIA) writes in support of Bill 17-014, which codifies Governor Hogan's regulatory change to remove the arbitrary 20 acre grading limit on development projects and extends the validity of erosion and sediment control permits from 2 to 3 years.

Currently, with the 20 acre rule in effect, developers must break their parcels into phases for grading purposes rather than grading the entire site at one time. This increased phasing adds additional costs to the developer while creating a longer duration of site exposure, increasing potential environmental and run-off impacts. Exposing sites for years instead of months also increases disruption to the local community interested in seeing the project completed and covered efficiently and effectively.

Rather than conserving waste in landfills, the 20 acre rule creates additional dirt haul off into landfills. This creates additional heavy loaded truck traffic onto county roads, decreases the life expectancy of road surfaces, and creates additional load for landfills.

Finally, extending the validity of erosion and sediment control permits from 2 to 3 years is a positive step that allows projects stalled for good reason, such as bad weather conditions, to move forward in an environmentally and fiscally responsible manner.

The MBIA urges you to vote for Bill 17-014. If you have any questions about these comments or if you would like to discuss our position further, please do not hesitate to contact me at (443)515-0025.

Best regards,

Josh Greenfeld, Esq. Vice President of Government Affairs Maryland Building Industry Association

Cc: County Executive Barry Glassman Councilmember Mike Perrone, Jr. Councilmember Joseph M. Woods Councilmember James McMahan Councilmember Chad Shrodes Councilmember Patrick S. Vincenti Councilmember Curtis L. Beulah