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While it's not every day that both sides offer to play in the same trump suit, it's not 
highly uncommon, either.  With five-card majors now the norm, roughly one out of 
every twelve deals (depending on what web source you believe) is systemically 
opened in a three-card minor.  Back in the nascent days of contract bridge, however, 
almost every opening suit bid showed four or more cards, making it much less likely 
that an opponent wanted to get too frisky in a suit his opponents had bid first.  The 
upshot is that 'standard' bidding methods against this sort of overcall are something 
between murky and nonexistent.  This month, let's see if the D4MSC can de-murk this 
situation a little.  Un-murk?  Down-murk?  Whatever. 

METHODS ARE 2/1 WITH "WALSH"  

A. Playing with an unfamiliar expert partner, what would you expect a 
Double by South to mean? 

 ANSWER PANEL SOLVERS AWARD 
 Penalty-oriented 6 12 10 
 Takeout-oriented 4 21 10 
 Other 3 6 10 

I'm channeling my inner Oprah here.  "You get ten points!  And you get ten points!  
And you, and you, and you get ten points!!"  Ahem.  The truth is, there was a very 
high correlation between the answers on part A and part B -- namely, if a respondent 
said that a double was for takeout now, then he or she was highly likely to double 
later.  So, we'll wait until the second half of the problem to hand out meaningful 
awards. 

In the meantime, let's all marvel at the fact that this very simple question about 
this very simple auction produced such a diverse set of opinions.  None of the three 
choices received a majority vote.  The takeaway here is that, if you haven't explicitly 
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discussed this auction with your partner, then you double here at your own peril.  The 
most popular interpretation among the Panelists -- and, "popular" is relative -- was: 

RICH ROTHWARF:  Penalty-oriented.  I'm unlikely to have a takeout double, unless 
I'm 4=4=3=2. 

Of course, on this particular hand, we are 4=4=3=2, but Rich is speaking in general 
terms.  To reserve the double for takeout means we must be of exactly this shape and 
almost exactly this strength (because, with 15 points and a balanced hand, we'd have 
opened 1NT.)  Putting the current problem aside, you might get to use a takeout dou-
ble here twice per lifetime if you're lucky.  Playing it as penalty, however, allows it to 
mean, "Partner, West has erred by coming into our auction.  Let's skin the varmint."  
That won't happen often, but it'll come up much more often than a takeout double. 

MICHAEL SHUSTER:  Penalty-oriented.  With the 1NT hand so tightly defined and the 
known lack of a four-four fit, takeout doesn't make sense.  But, is it such a stretch 
for us to have diamonds when we open the suit? 

ANDY MUENZ (with BARRY PASSER):  Penalty-oriented.  If it's takeout, where are we 
taking out to?  We have no eight-card major fit, and if partner had six clubs, he 
might have bid them over 2. 

PETE FILANDRO:  Penalty-oriented.  Takeout makes no sense.  Double should show 
three to four quick tricks -- a pair of ace-king combinations would be ideal. 

DANIEL DROZ:  Penalty-oriented.  Partner has no four-card major and didn't bid 3 
over 2, so there's a good chance he has two or more diamonds.  If I have long, 
decent diamonds (e.g. king-queen-fifth) and some side tricks and shortness, why 
shouldn't I want to punish this? 

JAY APFELBAUM:  Penalty-oriented.  Hard to imagine a different meaning.  Partner 
does not have a major suit.  We promised at least three diamonds and have limited 
the strength of our hand. 

JOHN JONES:  Penalty-oriented.  The standard meaning here is penalties, whether it 
should be or not.  I've bid a suit naturally and now the opponents are trying to play 
in that suit. 

While I agree with pretty much all of this, I think there's an even clearer reason why 
a double ought to be played unambiguously as penalty.  The only respondent to men-
tion it was: 

MICHAEL SHUSTER (CONT.):  ...Perhaps we should also discuss what partner's double 
would have meant, as it impacts our decision on whether or not to balance. 

True.  I'm a firm (if lonely) believer that a partnership's treatment of any given double 
ought to be symmetrical.  If your double means takeout in the direct seat, then so 
does mine in the balancing seat.  If yours means penalty, moi aussi.  Otherwise you 
can wind up in some truly absurd bidding situations; not to mention that my little 
brain can never remember seat-specific agreements like that. 

Mind you, if you would play North's double of 2 as takeout (showing, say, 

3=3=1=6 and essentially telling you, "I want to bid 3, but I don't want to step on 
your toes in case you have the double to end all doubles."), then I think it's fine to play 
South's double as takeout, too.  But, I doubt very many pairs have that agreement.  



Most would play North's double as penalty-oriented, expressing at a minimum, "This 
is our deal.  I do not wish to defend two diamonds undoubled." 

Let's see if our Takeout chefs can cook up a suitable counter-argument. 

DAVE WACHSMAN:  Takeout-oriented.  Logic would suggest that if I double, I can 
tolerate a Moysian [four-three - Ed.] fit in either major.  Partner is free to convert 
to penalties or to bid his six-card club suit. 

STEVE WHITE:  Takeout-oriented.  This is very tough.  The problem is that many ex-
pert partners will not have thought about this specific sequence and will conclude, 
based on somewhat similar situations, that it should be takeout-oriented (because 
of the balancing position.)  But, if asked instead, "What is the best use of a double 
here?", then I've concluded, too slowly for a table choice: penalty-oriented. 

DAN BOYE:  Takeout-oriented.  But, why would I come in? 

BILL FOSTER:  Takeout-oriented.  Pick a major or bid your long club suit. 

CHRISTINE SGRO:  Takeout-oriented.  Partner knows that diamonds are my longest 
minor, so I am looking for either of the majors. 

SASTRY DASIKA:  Takeout-oriented.  I want partner to bid his better major or pass 
with diamond length. 

RICHARD HARTZ JR.:  Takeout-oriented.  But if I'm honest, I want to see a green card 
come down. 

LYNN HARRIS (with BILL SCHMIDT and BARRY COHEN):  Takeout-oriented.  My rule of 
thumb is that, if unsure what a double means, it should be takeout when it is in 
front of the opponents' length, but tending to penalty if behind it. 

Pointing out that the entire takeout-vs-penalty debate is kind of moot is: 

TOM WEIK:  Penalty-oriented.  I don't know if I've ever seen a penalty double in 
this auction.  If you like your defensive prospects with diamonds as trump, why not 
pass rather than risk pushing them into a superior major-suit fit?  On the other 
hand, I don't think I've ever seen a takeout double here either.  It doesn’t seem 
plausible that I'm looking for a four-three major suit fit, and if partner has clubs as 
it appears, I have just two of those. 

If none of the above arguments strikes your fancy, but you're not willing forever to 
abandon a double in this auction, then perhaps DSI is for you.  What's DSI stand for?  
Oh, you'll find out soon enough.... 

RICK ROWLAND:  Other.  I have a maximum.  Do Something Intelligent. 

KARL BARTH:  Other.  This is a classic Do Something Intelligent double.  I guess that 
makes it more takeout than penalty if forced to choose, though it really means "I'm 
at the top of my range and I'm not ready to sell out." 

STEPHEN COOPER.:  Other.  Do Something Intelligent!  Not pure penalty nor takeout. 

CRAIG ROBINSON:  Other.  DSI = Do Something Intelligent. 

RUI MARQUES (with CONNIE GOLDBERG similarly):  Other.  Actually, it would be an 
invitation to a director call, because it will almost never be made in tempo.  More 
seriously, my first reaction was "penalty", but after my second-round pass, it can 



hardly be that.  So, I'd call it a Do Something Intelligent double, showing a good 
hand for my auction thus far. 

MARK BOLOTIN:  Other.  Do Something, partner.  [Mark omitted "Intelligent", but 
close enough. - Ed.]  West should have good diamonds sitting over me, so double 
shouldn't be penalty.  North denied the majors, so how could it be for takeout? 

WILLIAM PORT:  Other.  Bid Something! 

I admit I took some editorial liberties with the capitalization, but those comments are 
otherwise mostly verbatim.  Every "Other" adherent cited DSI in some form or an-
other.  I honestly wouldn't try a DSI double at IMPs, but at matchpoints, and particu-
larly at these colors, okay.  Defending a two-level undoubled part score when the bad 
guys have an eight-card fit (as they likely do here) is rarely lucrative and often very 
ugly.  Matchpoints is all about pushing the opponents one level higher than they want 
to play...usually.  Is this auction one of the rare exceptions?  Let's find out as we move 
on to the second half of our problem. 

 

A. What is your call? 

 ANSWER PANEL SOLVERS AWARD 
 Pass 9 17 90 
 Double 1 17 80 

 2 3 2 70 
 2NT 0 2 60 

 3 0 1 60 

Whoa!  I expected exactly the opposite results: the Panelists would bend over back-

wards to find any call to get the opponents out of 2, while the Solvers would shrug 
and say "Meh, I have nothing better to do than let them play this."  The D4MSC is a 
surprise a minute.  Mind you, the passers spanned the gamut between those who give 
up philosophically... 

TOM WEIK:  Pass.  I have no visibility as to any attractive contract for our side, nor 
to our defensive prospects.  Sometimes, it's just right to pass! 

CRAIG ROBINSON:  Pass.  I would double, but I'm guessing that partner, with his 
pass, has nothing to say.  Perhaps 3 by North is a good save, but minus scores in 
general at matchpoints don't score well. 

RICK ROWLAND:  Pass.  Soft defensive values make me okay with giving up –90. 

KARL BARTH:  Pass.  +50 or –90 might not be a disaster.  Who says we were going 
plus in 1NT? 

ANDY MUENZ (with RICHARD HARTZ JR.):  Pass.  Not the ideal vulnerability to defend 
a two-level contract, but on a good day, nothing is making.  A plus is better than a 
minus, and –90 in diamonds beats –100 in 1NT down two. 

DANIEL DROZ:  Pass.  I'm certainly not doubling for penalty.  I suppose I could take a 
stab at finding a four-three fit in a major by bidding 2, but on the whole, that 
seems too dangerous.  Passing is just as good of a guess as bidding, and it makes 
me less of a culprit in the post-mortem. 



JOHN JONES:  Pass.  I could bid 2, natural, and partner would know roughly what I 
have.  Anything but pass is guessing, though.  Even at all-white, the best vulnerabil-
ity for competing, bidding here seems like threading a needle. 

BRUCE SCHWAIDELSON:  Pass.  Partner had a chance to double 2 or to show his 
club suit, and he didn't.  No action feels right.  I'm passing and hoping for a spade 
lead. 

...and those who pass with conviction, if that's not an oxymoron: 

PETE FILANDRO:  Pass.  My first instinct was to pass, because my first two calls 
showed a balanced minimum and any further action would be masterminding.  My 
second thought was also to pass, because East-West might have half the deck, I 
have the death holding in diamonds, and we may have no safety above 2. 

BOB AND JOANN GLASSON:  Pass.  It's hard to see how we can go plus declaring.  If 
partner had six clubs, he likely would have bid them over 2.  Our hand has lots of 
defensive possibilities, so we will defend. 

BARRY PASSER:  Pass.  We have no fit except maybe in 3.  The LAW says, forget it! 

STEVE WHITE:  Pass.  This is easy.  Takeout-oriented or penalty-oriented, let them 
play it.  They may not have an eight-card fit, and we almost certainly don't have a 
nine-card club fit. 

Summing up for all the passers: 

MICHAEL SHUSTER:  Pass.  All white at matchpoints really rewards aggressive bid-
ding, so I've waffled back and forth on this quite a bit.  I think partner will show up 
with 3=4 or 3=5 in the minors too often to risk balancing with a looming defensive 
minor-suit crossruff.  Also, it's rare that the field will play a four-three fit here, so 
balancing puts the whole board at risk.  A final consideration is that some partner-
ships today open this hand 1, and at those tables we can assume the auction will 
begin 1-(1/2), possibly leading to a poor five-two club contract our way.  
There's no reason to believe that defending diamonds is unusual 

Almost everyone else who commented made a takeout double in one form or an-

other.  Yes, even the 2 bidders, because all of them voted in Part A for either "pen-

alty-oriented" or "DSI".  In that context, the only way to make a takeout double of 2 
is to do the taking-out yourself, to the cheapest available strain. 

RICH ROTHWARF:  2.  It's usually not a good idea to sell out so low at matchpoints 
at this vulnerability. 

CONNIE GOLDBERG:  2.  Because I expect we would have made 1NT, and because 
partner didn't double 2, I will protect (but only at this vulnerability and form of 
scoring.)  To avoid torturing my partner, I'll bid 2 and hope we have a place to 
land. 

DON DALPE:  2.  I am hoping that my expert partner can figure it out. 

RUI MARQUES:  2.  Like the double, a Do Something Intelligent bid.  Partner 
should figure out my approximate distribution and either pass with three hearts, 
bid 2 with three spades, try 2NT with a good hand, or retreat to his long club suit 
otherwise.  I doubt this will be the majority view, but it should be. 😊 



I'm pretty sure partner will field this one.  Whether we have a safe-ish resting spot, 
as Connie frets, is another story.  Incidentally, the fifth 2 bidder was yours truly, and 
it was the winning call in real life...but, if I am being honest, I had a wire of sorts on 
the board.  It arose during one of the nutso Robot Race games on BBO, where I was 

the only human at the table.  When a robot West bids 2 on this auction, the contract 
will make, end of discussion.  The bots are extremely leery of bidding a suit that the 
opponents have bid first.  Knowing that, and also knowing that defending a NV part-

score is a waste of precious time, I bid 2 for takeout, my robot partner accurately 

corrected to 3 (on its 3=3=1=6 7-count), and it took eight easy tricks for -50 in under 
ten seconds.  Don't try this at home, or at your local bridge club. 

A sixth prospective 2 bidder decided against it because of the potential lead-di-

recting implications.  His take on 2, however, which nobody chose, seems right on 
the money to me: 

STEPHEN COOPER:  Pass.  If the heart and spade honors were reversed, I might try 
2, but I don't think I want a heart lead if the opponents bid on.  I can't bid 2 be-
cause that would imply spades and clubs.  West could have a very strong hand. 

Taking it one step further.... 

PHILIP FREIDENREICH:  2NT.  Partner has no four-card major, so I expect she'll pro-
vide help in the minors. 

By extension of Stephen Cooper's logic, if I were North, I'd treat South's 2NT as pass-
or-correct to 3.  I doubt that this is the right hand for that bid, but it's worth remem-
bering.  As for the by-the-book takeout doublers: 

RICHARD HARTZ, SR.:  Double.  At IMPs, I would pass.  Assuming partner interprets 
my double for takeout, we might end in a four-three major fit, or possibly 3 if he 
has long clubs.  I am hoping for down one, undoubled! 

BARRY COHEN:  Double.  I don't want to give up to 2, not vulnerable.  We have at 
least half the deck, and partner's points are probably outside diamonds.  I'm willing 
to have him bid a three-card major. 

WILLIAM PORT:  Double.  Partner has already denied a four-card major.  My guess is 
that this will elicit either 2NT or 3. 

LYNN HARRIS (with BOB GRINWIS):  Double.  I expect West to have a good diamond 
suit.  I'll pass whatever partner bids, or root for a spade lead if he passes. 

BILL SCHMIDT:  Double.  I expect 2 to make more often than not, especially if part-
ner takes out the double.  I hope to get to a making contract or a -50 sacrifice. 

I ran a quick simulation on this problem, which was inconclusive.  Sometimes it's best 

to defend 2 undoubled; sometimes an offbeat takeout double (or takeout 2) 
worked better.  The real risk comes when partner misinterprets your takeout or coop-
erative/DSI double as "I have this beat, partner; kindly go away."  On that basis, un-
less you have a clear agreement, I suppose pass is the winning practical action. 

BILL BAUER:  Double.  There's no clear-cut action available, but letting the oppo-
nents play 2 does not seem like it will score well.  If partner has three diamonds, 
he will sit for the double; if he's short, he'll take it out. 



CHRIS MARLOW:  Double.  I switched between pass and double several times.  If 
partner has long, good clubs, then 3 will be okay.  If he has a maximum and scat-
tered values, defending 2 doubled could score well.  With a minimum, perhaps 
partner pulls to the best Moysian fit.  If he passes and they make it, it's only match-
points and we will move on to the next board very quickly. 

HOWARD WACHTEL:  Double.  West may have very long diamonds, in which case 
North probably has very long clubs.  Or maybe not.  I'll give North the choice to 
pass for penalty, or to bid 2NT or 3C according to her hand. 

We'll wrap up this month with one our most unusual Last Words ever.... 

DAN BOYE:  Pass. 

Dan offered no comment, but his silence speaks volumes.  Almost nobody in our dis-
trict competes for a part-score at matchpoints as aggressively as our Prez Emeritus.  
If he's passing, I'm listening.  See you next month. 

             

The District 4 Master Solvers' Club appreciates problem submissions of any sort.  Our 
crack analytic staff can be reached at d4msc@straguzzi.org.  Monthly problems plus 
our online submission form can be found at http://d4msc.straguzzi.org/ 
 


