Presbytery of Chicago

Assembly Connect

May 15, 2018

The following items were passed in the Omnibus Motion:

- PILP Loan for Lake View Presbyterian Church, Chicago.
- Approved the revised Safe Boundary Policy.
- Received the proposed addition to the Manual of Operations for a first reading.
- Elected Ms. Loretta Gratias-Bremer (Western Springs), Rev. Gregory Boettner (Chicago Heights), Rev. Maggie Shreve (MAL), and Ms. Barbara Vaughan (Berkley-Hillside) to the Nominating Committee.
- Elected Rev. Scott Matheney (Specialized Team Moderator), Rev. Beth Wagner (Region 1 Liaison), and Rev. Julie Peterson (Region 4 Liaison) to serve on the Commission on Ministry.
- Approved minutes from the February 10, 2018 meeting.
- Received the information items in the assembly packet.

Heard from host pastor, Rev. Paul Gilmore, about how Winnetka Presbyterian Church approaches justice in their community.

Approved the project plan from the Antiracism Planning & Design Task Force to create the Commission on Anti-Racism & Equity (CARE). To learn more, check out the meeting packet pages 27 - 41. Please share this application with anyone from your community who has a passion for racial justice and a desire to impact the culture and relationships of Chicago Presbytery. Application deadline is June 12.

Commissioned Rev. Barbara Cathey (Chicago, Edgewater), Rev. John Chu (Chicago, Faith Community), Elder John Fyfe (Tinley Park), Rev. Ken Hockenberry (Skokie, Carter-Westeminster), Rev. Michael Kirby (Evanston, Northminster), Mr. David Myles (Chicago, Sixth-Grace), Ms. Lynn Santos (Oak Park, Fair Oaks), Ms. Kris Veenbaas (Clarendon Hills, Community), and Ms. Sandy Zeles (Downers Grove, St. Luke), as commissioners or advisory delegates to the 223rd General Assembly; Kaki Lynch, Rev. Stewart Pattison (Lombard, Community), and Mr. Steve Wolfe (Chicago, Crerar), as alternate commissioners or advisory delegates, and Mr. Jim Babcock, Ms. Pauline Coffman (Oak Park, First United), and Rev. Kathy McNair (MAL) to serve as advocates for the overtures this presbytery passed; Rev. Barbara Bundick

(Specialized), Ms. Jodi Craiglow (Libertyville, First), and Rev. Michael Kirby to lead and assist three General Assembly committees.

Endorsed Rev. Ken Hockenberry to stand for election as vice-moderator of the 223rd General Assembly.

Elected Rev. Fred Lyon (Specialized), Ms. Brenda Taylor (Chicago, Morgan Park), Ms. Jayne Wellman (Arlington Heights, First), Ms. Cornelle Badette (Hillside, Berkeley-Hillside), and Rev. Dan Rift (Specialized) to serve as the Stated Clerk Nominating Committee. Help us spread the word about the position opening.

Approved the proposed revisions to the 21st Century Church Policy.

Approved the gift to the Northwest Suburban Day Care Center from the closure of First Presbyterian Church of Des Plaines.

Rev. Suzan Hawkinson from First Presbyterian Church of Deerfield preached the Word of the Lord. (Zechariah 4: 1-10)

Celebrated the ministry of Berkley-Hillside Presbyterian Church who held their final worship service on Sunday, May 6, 2018 and voted to dissolve the church at the congregation's request.

Approved to change the call of Rev. Ken Hockenberry from Interim Pastor of Carter-Westminster Presbyterian Church of Skokie to an Installed Pastor position.

Examined and approved Mr. Ryan Wallace to be ordained to ordered ministry pending a congregational vote.

Elected Rev. David Neff (Chicago, Second), Rev. Jane Tuma (MAL), Rev. Barbara Cathey (Chicago, Edgewater), Elder John Fyfe (Tinley Park, Faith United), Elder David Myles (Chicago, Sixth-Grace), and Elder Joyce Perry (Broadview, Community) to serve as an Administrative Commission to First Presbyterian Church, Chicago with original jurisdiction of the session for at least the remainder of the calendar year 2018.

Shared the Prayers of the People for all of those who have suffered loss and grief, and prayed for unity and reconciliation in our hearts as we seek to live the will of Christ in our church, community, presbytery, city, and world.

We are ever thankful for the work of those who planned and hosted this assembly meeting. Thank you to Presbytery Coordinating Commission and the staff and members of host church Winnetka Presbyterian Church.