

655 Beach Street San Francisco, CA 94109-1336

P.O. Box 7424 San Francisco, CA 94120-7424

T: +1 415.561.8500 aao.org

September 24, 2020

Dorothy Moore, MD email: delawareeyemd@comcast.net

Dear Dot,

We hope you are doing well in these challenging times.

On behalf of the Academy's Secretariat for State Affairs, we are very pleased that you have been selected as the Academy's 2020 *Hall of Fame Award* recipient.

The Hall of Fame Award recipient is determined by the Secretariat during its annual July meeting. The award has been historically presented during the Opening Session of the Fall Council Meeting/Council of Advocates Session to an ophthalmologist whose life-long advocacy demonstrates a commitment to public policies supporting quality medical and surgical care. We couldn't think of anyone more deserving than you.

The Academy has made a decision regarding 2020 awardees given the pivot to a virtual platform for the annual meeting and the Fall Council meeting. With a few exceptions, the recognition for 2020 Academy award recipients will take place during either Mid-Year Forum 2021 or AAO 2021 when it can be at a live meeting. This includes you as the Hall of Fame recipient. This will allow you – and other award recipients - to enjoy the full experience and fanfare you truly deserve for your achievements.

Again, congratulations on this recognition and we look forward to seeing you in person in 2021.

Sincerely,

Kurt Heitman, MD

Secretary for State Affairs

cc: John Peters, MD – Associate Secretary for State Affairs Rachel Reinhardt, MD- Associate Secretary for State Affairs