

January 18, 2018

The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker, U.S House of Representatives 1233 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Majority Leader, U.S House of Representatives 2421 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan and Majority Leader McCarthy,

The recent revelation of a Congressional "hush fund" that paid settlements to victims of sexual harassment by Members of Congress and their staffs is shocking, offensive and entirely unacceptable. At least nine public polls taken in November and December confirm that the American public is revulsed, not only by the acts of harassment themselves, but also by the practice of buying the victims' silence by settlements paid for with taxpayers' money and hidden from the public through non-disclosure agreements. Clearly, this practice must stop.

One effort to ensure that Congress addresses this issue effectively is H.R. 4494, the Congressional Accountability and Hush Fund Elimination Act, introduced by Rep. Ron DeSantis. It has already garnered nearly 100 cosponsors (74 Republicans and 25 Democrats). We urge you to take an active role in ensuring that it is given prompt attention and passage.

We understand that there may be other legislative proposals addressing the same concerns that will soon be introduced. Our purpose here is not to suggest that any one bill is the perfect solution, but rather to urge that deliberation by the Committee on House Administration be initiated promptly. Your encouragement as the top leaders in the House would ensure that this issue is given the kind of serious attention

Thank you for your consideration.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Former Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan

The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop Chairman, Conservative Action Project Former White House Advisor, President Ronald Reagan

The Conservative Action Project (CAP), founded in 2008 by many conservative leaders with former Attorney General Edwin Meese III serving as the Founding Chairman. CAP is currently chaired by The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop and is designed to facilitate conservative leaders working together on behalf of common goals. Participants include the CEOs of over 100 organizations representing all major elements of the conservative movement-economic, social and national security.

The Honorable Colin A. Hanna

President

Let Freedom Ring, Inc.

Alfred S. Regnery

Chairman

Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund

Diana Banister

President and Partner

Shirley & Banister Public Affairs

Lisa B. Nelson

Chief Executive Officer

American Legislative Exchange Council

Rachel Boyard

Former Policy Director

Senate Steering Committee

Jenny Beth Martin

Chairman

Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

The Honorable Tony Perkins

President, Family Research Council

President, Council for National Policy

Cleta Mitchell, Esq.

Marjorie Dannenfelser

President

Susan B. Anthony List

Penny Young Nance

CEO & President

Concerned Women for America

David N. Bossie

President

Citizens United

Floyd Brown

Chairman

Western Center for Journalism

The Honorable David McIntosh

President

Club for Growth

David Bozell

President

ForAmerica

Adam Brandon

President

FreedomWorks

Ed Corrigan

Former Executive Director

Senate Steering Committee

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.

Former Chief Domestic Advisor

President Ronald Reagan

Thomas E. McClusky

President

March for Life Action

William L. Walton

Chairman

CNP Action, Inc.

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell

Chairman

Constitutional Congress, Inc.

Rebecca Hagelin

Secretary, Council for National Policy

Board of Directors, FamilyTalk

Larry Beasley

President and CEO

The Washington Times

The Honorable Mike Spence

Founding President

Conservative Republicans of California

Roxanne Phillips

Member, Executive Committee

Council for National Policy

Anne Schlafly Cori

Chairman Eagle Forum

The Honorable Kenneth Cuccinelli

President

Senate Conservatives Fund

The Honorable Charles J. Cooper

Former Assistant Attorney General, Ronald Reagan Administration

Cooper & Kirk, PLLC

Bob Adams

President

Revive America PAC

Dean B Nelson

Chairman

Frederick Douglass Foundation

Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.

Washington Bureau Chief

Infowars.com

James N. Clymer

Former National Chairman, Constitution

Party and Conservative Legal Defense and

Education Fund

Robert K. Fischer

Meeting Coordinator

Conservatives of Faith

Peggy Dau

Special Liasion Representative

Voice of the Martyrs

C. Preston Noell III

President

Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Patrick A. Trueman

President & CEO

National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Charlie Gerow

CEO

Quantum Communications

The Honorable James C. Miller III

Director, Office of Management & Budget

President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)

The Honorable Gary Bauer

President

American Values

Randall S. Page

Chief of Staff

Bob Jones University

The Honorable Timothy Echols

PSC Commissioner

State of Georgia

David Williams

President

Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Kevin D. Freeman

Founder

NSIC Institute

Joseph A. Morris

Partner

Morris & De La Rosa

Allen Hebert

Chairman

American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston

Dr. Ted Baehr

Chairman

MOVIEGUIDE®

Ralph Schmidt

Owner

Schmidt Land and Cattle Co

Peter J. Thomas

Chairman

The Conservative Caucus

Kathleeen Patten

President and CEO

American Target Advertising

Willes K. Lee

President

National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Lee A. Beaman

CEO & Owner

Beaman Automotive Group

Ann Drexel

Member, Board of Governors Council for National Policy

Joe Calvert

President

Ramon-Calvert Interests

Judson Phillips

Founder

Tea Party Nation

Ron Robinson

President

Young America's Foundation

Robert D. Thompson

Former Administrator The Weyrich Lunch

The Honorable Mica Mosbacher

Author

Mosbacher Interests LLC

Rod Vandenbos

CEO

Buzzbox

Norman Singleton

President

Campaign for Liberty

Melvin Adams

Past President

Renewanation

Lou Cordia

President, Cordia & Associates, and Executive Director, President Reagan's

Alumni Association

James L. Martin

Founder & Chairman 60 Plus Association